Community News

11 New Deputies Join Alexandria Sheriff’s Office

Pictured left to right:Clerk of Circuit Court Greg Parks, Deputy Mark Gonzalez, Deputy Otis Jackson, Deputy Alec Hutchinson, Deputy Daniel Mendez, Deputy Patrick Ruleman, Deputy Shalamar Murray, Deputy Jonathan Wright, Deputy Jada Goodwine, Deputy Shakira Haines, Deputy Metria Hernandez, Deputy Jessica Meekins and Sheriff Dana Lawhorne (Photo courtesy Alexandria Sheriff’s Office)

ALEXANDRIA, VA – On Friday, Nov. 6, the Alexandria Sheriff’s Office welcomed 11 new deputies to its ranks. Family members watched via the internet as Mark Gonzalez, Jada Goodwine, Shakira Haines, Metria Hernandez, Alec Hutchinson, Otis Jackson, Jessica Meekins, Daniel Mendez, Shalamar Murray, Patrick Ruleman, and Jonathan Wright officially became deputy sheriffs.

During the ceremony, Clerk of Circuit Court Greg Parks explained the significance of the oath of office before he administered it to each deputy. Sheriff Dana Lawhorne then presented them with their badges.

The sheriff told the group that law enforcement is a noble profession, stressing the importance of the badge and oath.

“Never lose sight of the fact that we work for the people,” he said.

The deputies will next participate in several weeks of field training at the Alexandria Detention Center. In 2021 they will attend the Northern Virginia Criminal Justice Training Academy. Following graduation, additional courthouse and field training will be required before the group becomes certified law enforcement officers.

RELATED: Alexandria Sheriff’s Office Asking for Donations During Holiday Season




Kevin Dauray

Kevin is Publisher's Assistant with The Zebra Press. He has been working for Alexandria's "Good News" newspaper since 2019. A graduate of George Mason University, he earned a bachelor's in English with a concentration in Creative Writing. He also studied at the Columbia School of Broadcasting and holds a master's degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling from Marymount University. He is an alumnus of T.C. Williams High School. Go Titans!

Related Articles

Back to top button