ALEXANDRIA, VA-The Friendship Firehouse Museum, located at 107 S. Alfred St., is welcoming visitors this Saturday, May 22. The 19th-century firehouse will be open from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
The Friendship Fire Co., established in 1774, was the first fire company in Alexandria. It consisted of volunteers who fought blazes throughout the city at wooden structures. Before electricity, residents used candelight to see and cook, which could be dangerous.
On Saturday, visitors can view equipment from that period and learn about the history of the firehouse, built in 1855. Families with young children will be given take-home kits, which will include plastic fire helmets (while supplies last).
Visitors will be given specific entry times to maintain social distancing. Groups of up to 10 may visit at once for $2. Ticket-buyers are asked to purchase entry ahead of time. Alexandria residents will receive free entry but still need to reserve a time slot. Those with a Key to the City pass can select that option when reserving and present it upon arrival.
Purchase tickets at the online shop at https://alexandriava.gov/shop or by calling 703-746-4994.