ASO Presents: Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 3 “Scottish”

    Date(s) - 11/04/2018
    3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

    George Washington Masonic Memorial

    Categories No Categories

    Saturday November 3, 2018 at 8pm
    The Rachel M. Schlesinger Concert Hall and Arts Center
    4915 E. Campus Drive
    Alexandria, VA 22311

    Sunday November 4, 2018 at 3pm – with pre-concert talk at 2:15pm
    George Washington Masonic Memorial
    101 Callahan Drive
    Alexandria, VA 22301

    James Ross, Music Director
    Tanya Anisimova, cellist

    Tickets: $20-$80 adult, $5 youth, $10 student or 703-548-0885


    The Alexandria Symphony Orchestra, led by Music Director James Ross, celebrates the past and present of American music.  In recognition of Leonard Bernstein’s 100th birthday celebration, the orchestra will perform two pieces from his acclaimed musicals, including the Overture to West Side Story and “Three Dances Episodes” from On the Town. The concert also features the world premiere of Jessica Krash’s cello concerto with cellist Tanya Anisimova. Closing the program will be Felix Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 3 “Scottish,” loosely based on the composer’s travels in Scotland with his longtime friend Karl Klingemann.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.