Community NewsZebra Misc

Alexandria First Responders Honored in White House Ceremony

Three officers from the Alexandria Police Department received the Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor today, in recognition of their heroism during the June 14 shooting incident at Eugene Simpson Stadium Park. The Medal of Valor is the highest decoration for bravery exhibited by public safety officers in the United States.

At a White House ceremony, President Donald J. Trump presented the awards to Alexandria Police Officers Nicole Battaglia, Alexander Jensen, and Kevin Jobe, along with U.S. Capitol Police Special Agents David Bailey and Crystal Griner. President Trump also recognized personnel in attendance from the Alexandria Department of Emergency Communications, Alexandria Fire Department, Alexandria Police Department, Alexandria Sheriff’s Office, and other partner agencies who responded to the incident.

“Today, our nation honors these brave officers for their selfless actions to preserve human life. They are our heroes,” said Mayor Allison Silberberg. “We are deeply grateful to them and to the many first responders who ran toward danger that morning and saved lives. We also salute the many thousands of their colleagues in public safety who stand guard and spring to action all across our country each and every day.”

The Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor, comparable to the military’s Medal of Honor, is awarded to public safety officers who have exhibited exceptional courage, regardless of personal safety, in an attempt to save or protect others from harm.

Related Articles

Back to top button