Foodie Newz

Restaurants in the running for 2019 RAMMY awards

The Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington (RAMW) announced the finalists for their 20 categories March 11. The winners will be announced at a June 30 gala at the Washington Convention Center. The awards honor the region’s restaurant industry who are members of the association in categories focused on food and beverage, service, food producers and others who serve the restaurant industry.

The Executive Committee will select a Duke Zeibert Capital Achievement Award honoree, given for dedication and leadership that has helped transform Washington’s restaurant scene. Washingtonians can vote for their favorites in the following categories online at NBC Washington’s website,, until 5 pm on April 30.

Upscale Brunch of the Year

  • Estadio
  • Seasons
  • The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm
  • The Source by Wolfgang Puck
  • Unconventional Diner

Casual Brunch of the Year

Casolare Ristorante + Bar
  • Brookland’s Finest Bar & Kitchen
  • Casolare Ristorante & Bar
  • Compass Rose Bar + Kitchen
  • Maketto
  • The Tavern at Ivy City Smokehouse

Favorite Fast Bites of the Year

  • ChiKo
  • Little Red Fox
  • Rasa
  • Shouk
  • Taco Bamba Taqueria

These categories are selected by a panel of journalists and industry insiders.

Regional Food and Beverage Producer of the Year

Logan’s Sausages
  • Arcadia Farm
  • Atlas Brew Works
  • Ayrshire Farm
  • Ivy City Smokehouse
  • Logan Sausage Co.

New Restaurant of the Year

  • Chloe
  • Kaliwa
  • Poca Madre
  • Spoken English
  • Anselm

Cocktail Program of the Year

Royal Cocktail Bar


  • barmini by José Andrés
  • Bresca
  • Daikaya
  • Petworth Citizen and Reading Room
  • Royal

Beer Program of the Year

  • B Side
  • Caboose Tavern
  • Pizzeria Paradiso – Dupont
  • Republic
  • Roofers Union
    Roofers Union

Wine Program of the Year

  • Cork Wine Bar and Market
  • Le Diplomate
  • Maxwell Park
  • minibar by JoséAndrés
  • Trummer’s On Main

Rising Culinary Star of the Year

  • Javier Fernandez, Kuya Ja’s Lechon Belly
  • Adam Howard, Blue Duck Tavern
  • John MacPherson, Three Blacksmiths
  • Daniela Moreira, Call Your Mother Deli, Timber Pizza Company
  • Kwame Onwuachi, Kith and Kin

Employee of the Year

  • Oscar Ardon, Doi Moi
  • Maria Contreras, Jaleo Crystal City
  • Valentine King, Hummingbird Bar and Kitchen
  • Eloy Juarez Alvarez, Mintwood Place
  • Fred Uku, The Red Hen

Manager of the Year

  • Dave Delaplaine, Roofers Union
  • Sabrine Marques, PassionFish Bethesda
  • Donna Seal, Oceanaire
  • Richard Stewart, iRicchi Ristorante
  • Paris Twyman, Founding Farmers Tysons

Service Program of the Year

Ambar – Clarendon
  • Ambar – Clarendon
  • Carlyle Grand Cafe
  • Iron Gate
  • Joe’s Seafood, Prime Steak, & Stone Crab
  • The Riggsby

Casual Restaurant of the Year

  • All Purpose – Shaw
  • Bantam King
  • Bindaas – Cleveland Park
  • Maketto
  • Royal

Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year

Sally’s Middle Name


  • Iron Gate
  • Centrolina
  • Momofuku CCDC
  • Sally’s Middle Name
  • Sushi Taro

Pastry Chef of the Year

  • Fabrice Bendano, Le Diplomate
  • Ana Deshaies, Unconventional Diner
  • Pichet Ong, Brothers and Sisters, Spoken English
  • Paola Velez, Iron Gate
  • Meagan Tighe, Trummer’s On Main

Formal Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year

Trummer’s On Main


  • Blue Duck Tavern
  • Bourbon Steak
  • Rasika
  • The Source by Wolfgang Puck
  • Trummer’s On Main

Chef of the Year

  • Kyle Bailey, The Salt Line
  • David Deshaies, Unconventional Diner
  • Marjorie Meek-Bradley, St. Anselm
  • Russell Smith, The Source by Wolfgang Puck
  • Nicholas Stefanelli, Masseria, Officina

Restaurateur of the Year

  • Victor Albisu, Poca Madre, Taco Bamba Taqueria
  • Jackie Greenbaum & Gordon Banks, Bar Charley, El Chucho, Little Coco’s, Quarry House Tavern, Slash Run
  • Michael Friedman, Mike O’Malley, Colin McDonough, Gareth Croke, All Purpose Restaurants
  • Rose Previte, Compass Rose Bar + Kitchen, Maydan
  • Daisuke Utagawa, Katsuya Fukushima, and Yama Jewayni, Daikaya Group

Favorite Gathering Place of the Year

Duke’s Counter
  • Duke’s Counter
  • Open Road
  • Perry’s
  • Quarry House Tavern
  • Vinoteca

Each year, the RAMW executive committee chooses one “allied” member, a partner who serves the restaurant industry. Those nominees are:

  • Coastal Sunbelt Produce
  • Congressional Seafood Co.
  • Saval Foodservice
  • TriMark Adams-Burch
  • The Veritas Law Firm

Related Articles

Back to top button