Alexandria, VA – You know how it is – the summer is here, all these kids out of school want to party, and some of them really look over 21. The Alexandria Police Department is going to be participating in an alcohol compliance campaign this week, and will focus on various retail business locations that sell alcohol throughout Alexandria.
Officers are visiting businesses throughout Alexandria and are providing education and awareness information for businesses and their employees.
Chief of Police Michael L. Brown is reminding business owners and employees that for a first time offense of selling alcohol to an underage customer, a licensee can be penalized up to $2,000 and/or have its ABC license revoked for violating Virginia’s minimum-age alcohol laws.
The maximum penalty in Virginia for an employee who sells alcohol to minors is one year in jail and a $2,500 fine.
— Alexandria Police (@AlexandriaVAPD) June 24, 2019