Community News

There’s Still Time to Nominate Someone for a Salute to Women Award

The Alexandria Commission for Women still seeks nominations of women, men and youth who have made a significant impact on women and girls in Alexandria.

Alexandria’s winners will be honored at the Alexandria Commission for Women’s 38th annual Salute to Women Awards: The Future is Female event on March 23, 2020 at 6 p.m. at The Lyceum: Alexandria’s History Museum (201 S. Washington St., Alexandria). Proceeds support the Alexandria Sexual Assault Center and Domestic Violence Program and other programs benefitting women and girls in the city of Alexandria.
Award categories include:
  • The Susan Lowell Butler Lifetime Achievement Award
  • The Marguerite Payez Leadership Award
  • Youth Community Services Award
  • The Marian Van Landingham Legislation and Public Policy Award
  • The Vola Lawson Award
  • Donna Bergheim Cultural Affairs Award
The Salute to Women Awards began in the 1980s to recognize the efforts and achievements of women who have made important and enduring contributions to the Alexandria community.
A gathering of present and past Women’s Commission members. Front row from left to right: Alyssa Cochran, Alicia Daly, Monika Chapman, Jacinta Greene, Anuja Miner, and LaTeisha Garrett; back row: Brian Morreale, P.J. Johnson, Kendra Martello, Council Member Amy Jackson, Holly Beville, Chair Maribel Ramos.
Together We Bake, recipient of the 2016 Leadership in Business and Career Development Award, experienced an increase in interest from the Alexandria community after the award drew attention to its mission of empowering women — thus, highlighting the award’s significance locally.
All nominations must be submitted to the Department of Community and Human Services by the close of business on Thursday, March 5, 2020.
Nomination forms can be completed online. For more information, contact Maribel Ramos at [email protected].

Related Articles

Back to top button