School News

Bishop Ireton Students Earn Outstanding Academic Achievements

81 AP Scholars and a National Merit Semi-Finalist

Bishop Ireton High School announced the outstanding academic achievements of some of its top students.  The school is proud to recognize 81 Advanced Placement Scholars and a Semifinalist for the National Merit Scholarship.

Mrs. Denise Tobin, Principal of Bishop Ireton High School and Braden Hoagland ’18 Bishop Ireton’s National Merit Scholar Semifinalist. (Courtesy photo)

Principal Denise Tobin and Head of School Tom Curry are proud to announce that Braden Hoagland ’18 (Son of Mr. Bradley and Mrs. Jill St. Marie-Hoagland of Alexandria) is a Semifinalist in the 63rd National Merit Scholarship Program. Approximately 16,000 students nationwide have been named semifinalists, and they will compete for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring.  Students entered the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).  The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. Bishop Ireton is also pleased to recognize the 81 Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars by the College Board in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement (AP) Program exams, taken in May of 2017.

Founded in 1964 by the Oblates of St. Francis de Sales, Bishop Ireton High School is a Catholic college preparatory school in the City of Alexandria, Virginia that serves students from across the Washington Metropolitan area in grades 9 through 12. (Courtesy photo)

The College Board’s AP Program provides motivated and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college –level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP exams.  Last year Bishop Ireton High School had 233 students take 511 Advanced Placement exams in 18 subject areas.

The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on a students’ performance on the AP exams.  

National AP Scholar : Granted to students who receive an average of at least 4 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.  Congratulations to the 2016-17 award winners: 

Class of 2017: Elizabeth Healy, Sarah Innis, Samuel Paparo

 AP Scholar with Distinction : Granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams.  Congratulations to the 2016-17 award winners: 

Class of 2017: Angellena Arquette-Overman, Medallia Ayalew, Madeleine Byrns, Michael Caballero, Sophia DeLoatche, John Dodson, Sofia Driscoll, Kayla Duperrouzel, Rebecca Glick, Daniel Halliden, Elizabeth Healy, Joshua Hensley, Sarah Innis, Karson Lyon, Callan McCormick, Jennifer Muchinkoff, Samuel Paparo, Matthew Poling, Elizabeth Rives, Genevieve Thanh

Class of 2018: Gabrielle Baniqued, Braden Hoagland, Alice Innis, Kevin McNerny, Christopher Nguyen, Sheeba Prince

 AP Scholar with Honor : Granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. Congratulations to the 2016-17 winners:

Class of 2017:  Megan Cunningham, Christine Davis, Matthew Fluker, Clare Heaney, Conrad Lakso, Claire Pierce, Rachel Price, Taylor Schwab, Maeve Snydstrup

Class of 2018: Edward Ayvazian, Sarah Chopko, Sean Gibbons, Emily Graham, Madeleine McDade, Julianne Miranda

 AP Scholar : Granted to students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams. Congratulations to the 2016-17 award winners:

Class of 2017: Lori Abbed, Eve Armstrong, Arianna Cacic, Edward Crandall, Hannah Eshelman, Sarah Estrella, Caroline Gant, Angeline Gnanasekaran, Hannah Hermann, Erik-Ian Kwelberg, Natalie Ledesma, Catherine Logrande, William McHugh, Mary Nealon, Jenny Nguyen, Christine Padilla, Azin Pooresmaeil, Allison Ramiscal, Alexander Rostron, Gabriel Sampaio, Pinn Winyoopongphun, Connor Wood, Julianne York

Class of 2018: Vivian Barker, Mavourneen Carr, Matthew Cheney, Margaret Doolin, Adelle Else, Aida Farah, Rory Fedorochko, Ryan Hartwell, Jeanette Lundberg, Grace McCaffery, Riley McHale, Peter Murphy, William Olson, Marco Sequeira, Dante Viana

Related Articles

Back to top button