School News

Alexandria City School Board Gets Five New Members

Superintendent Dr. Gregory C. Hutchings, Jr. with the newly inducted nine-member Alexandria School Board: Meagan L. Alderton, Michelle Rief, Veronica Nolan, Vice Chair Margaret Lorber, Chris Suarez, Jacinta Greene, Ramee Gentry, Heather Thornton, Cindy Anderson, Chair (Photo: Lucelle O’Flaherty)

Alexandria, Va. — Five new Alexandria School Board members were officially inducted at a public ceremony at T.C. Williams High School on Monday.

District A welcomed three new members: Jacinta Greene, Michelle Rief and Christopher A. Suarez. Cindy Anderson, Margaret Lorber and Veronica Nolan all held their seats in District B, while incumbent and former School Board Chair Ramee Gentry joined Meagan Alderton and Heather Thornton from District C in taking the oath. The new School Board will serve a three-year term and includes five new members and four incumbents.

Outgoing School Board Chair Karen Graf hands the gavel to newly elected Chair, Cindy Anderson. (Photo: Lucelle O’Flaherty)

Following the induction ceremony, Cindy Anderson was elected Chair of the Board, while Veronica Nolan was elected Vice Chair. The chair and vice chair serve for a year each.

The nine-member elected School Board makes policy, budget and leadership decisions that are aligned with the vision and Strategic Plan and sees that policies are properly explained, enforced and observed. They also serve on committees, including the Athletic Hall of Fame Advisory Committee, the Budget Advisory Committee, the School Health and Advisory Board and the Special Education Advisory Committee.

Superintendent Dr. Gregory C. Hutchings, Jr. at the ACPS School Board Induction. (Photo: Lucelle O’Flaherty)

“I am delighted to officially welcome our new Board and look forward to collaborating with them on fulfilling the vision of the school division over the next three years. This is our opportunity to make ACPS the best it has ever been through meeting students where they are and not where we want them to be. It takes commitment, dedication and time to do this work and I want to thank them for their service,” said Superintendent of Schools Dr. Gregory C. Hutchings, Jr. who led the proceedings.

Dr. Hutchings also thanked the five outgoing School Board members — Bill Campbell, Ronnie Campbell, Hal Cardwell, Karen Graf and Chris Lewis — for their commitment.

The induction ceremony was supported by the JROTC, the T.C. Williams High School Choir and the Provazek Quartet. The T.C. Jazz band provided the music for the reception. The Honorable Edward Semonian presided over the swearing-in.

Mayor Justin Wilson with former
T.C. Williams High School Principal, John Porter. (Photo: Lucelle O’Flaherty)

“I look forward to working with our new and returning Board members to continue to fulfil the vision of ACPS to see every student succeed,” said new Board Chair Cindy Anderson.

The new board will serve until December 31, 2021.

Mary Wadland

Mary Wadland is the Publisher and Editor in Chief of The Zebra Press, founded by her in 2010. Originally from Delray Beach, Florida, Mary is a Phi Beta Kappa graduate of Hollins College in Roanoke, VA and has lived and worked in the Alexandria publishing community since 1987.

Related Articles

Back to top button