Alexandria’s Chinquapin WAHOOS DOMINATE– Emil LaSida Lowers his CSL League Backstroke Record 

Emil LaSida swimming the 50-yard butterfly event. (Photo by Marissa Solis )

The Chinquapin Wahoos hosted and defeated the Franklin Glen Gators – Boys 122-100; Girls 124-98 – for a combined score of 246-198-for their 3rd consecutive win (3-0). All times are yards. The meet was very close with the Wahoos only ahead by 10 points after the free, back, and breast races. After the butterfly races, it was still close with the Wahoos ahead by just 20 points. Emil LaSida lowered the Colonial Swim League record (his own) in the 50 backstroke with a time of 25.97.

6&Unders:​Logan Phillips, Juan Enrique Bello and Jay Fox were 1st, 3rd, and 5th in the free and 1st, 3rd, and 4th in the backstroke.  Niamh Brady was 3rd the free and Freya Montes  was 2nd the backstroke events.

8&Unders:​Alex Guevara (17.57)and Eamonn Greiner(19.18) were 2-3 in the free; Alex (22:13) was 2nd  in back; Amir Smith (25.71) was 3rd in the breast; and Alex (22.65) was 3rd in the fly. The girls swam against some fasat competition but excelled. In the free, Chloe Fox (22.00), Elle Robb (23.69), and Linda Jimenez swept the backstroke; Linda (23.56) and Madison(23.69) were 1-2 in the breast; and in the butterfly, Elle (20.35) and Madison (21.26) finished 1st and 3rd. A very strong relay of Elle, Linda, Madison, and Chloe took 1st place with a time of 1:25.84.

9-10 Age Group:​Jack Scheifele (32.90) and Yahia Omar (34.17) took 1-2 in the free; Yahia (39.62) Dylan Lim (43.17)and Merrill Plotkin (47.22) swept the back; Jack (46.47) took 2ndin the breast; and Jack (16.94) and Dylan (18.57) were 1-2 the butterfly. In the 100 medley relay, Dylan, Yahia, Jack, and Chris Green won with a time of 1:16.65. Eva Billups (32.84) and Kate Merrill (33.67) took 1st and 2nd in the free; Eva (37.53), Tennyson Fitzgerald (44.03), Kate (45.00), and Camila Zuninga (45.88) were one through four in the back; Halle Thomas (51.47) was 2ndin the breast; and Eva (17.31) was 2nd in the fly. The girls team of Eva, Halle, Camila, and Kate showed their strength in winning the relay (1:16.59).

11-12 Age Group: ​Juan Bello (32.22) dropped 2 seconds for 3rd in the free; and Jolan Foronda was dominant in winning the backstroke (33.16), breaststroke (32.84), and butterfly events For the girls, Catherine Salomons (30.65) was 3rd the free; Eve 36.28) and Abby Altenberg (36.38were 2-3 in the back Catherine (39.65) was 2nd in the breast; and Eve (33.50) and Cate Cox (36.95) were 2-3 in the fly.  The girls team showed their depth with Cate, Sally Cox Eve, and Abby (2:18.82) capturing1st in the 200-m Medley Relay.

13-14 Age Group:

Ronan Lauinger (25.91) Diego Flores-Acosta (29.60) and Alex Paz (30.14) swept the free; Emil LaSida broke his own Colonial Swim League record in the 50-yard backstroke with a time of 29.97 Diego (36.15)touching 3rd; Ronan (31.93( and Emil (32.25) were 1-2 in thebreast; and Emil (26.41), Diego (33.4232.86), and Alex Paz (33.50) swept the 50-m butterfly. The boys team of JolanForonda swimming up, ronan, alex, and Diego (2:10.31) easily won 1st place.  For the girls, Eve McLaury swam up for 2nd in the free with a time of 20.54. Catherine Salomons swam up for 3rd in the 50 back with a time of 35.41; Stephanie Rosario (39.56) was 2nd in the breast; and Stephanie (35.78) took 3rd in the fly.

15-18 Year Olds: ​For the boys, Lutfi LaSida was 2nd in the free with a time of 24.22; Ronan Lauinger swam up for 2nd in the back with a time off 29.29;  and Lutfi LaSida (26.60) took 2nd in the butterfly. Emil and Ronan teamed up with Ian Do, and Lutfito shock the Gators in the 200 yard medley relay with a time of 1:48.07. For the girls, Lydia Greenwood (27.81) and Nicole Rosario (29.44) were 1-3 the free; Lydia (32.78) and Athena Salomons (34.59) were 2-3 in the back; Bella Obioa (38.53) and Nicole (39.00) fought hard to go 2-3 in the breast; and Lydia (30.03) and Nicole (31.35) finished strong for a 1-2 finish in the fly. Athena, Bella, Nicole and Lydia (2:11.22) won the 200 medley relay.

The Wahoos team of Jack Schiefele, Jolan Foronda, Emil LaSida, and Lutfi LaSida won with a time of 1:50.41 in the 200 yard free relay.


Mary Wadland

Mary Wadland is the Publisher and Editor in Chief of The Zebra Press, founded by her in 2010. Originally from Delray Beach, Florida, Mary is a Phi Beta Kappa graduate of Hollins College in Roanoke, VA and has lived and worked in the Alexandria publishing community since 1987.

Related Articles

Back to top button