ALEXANDRIA, VA-Today the Office of Historic Alexandria launched a website to honor the opening of Parker-Gray High School in 1920. The page provides a wealth of history, including information about alumni, staff, and faculty.
Visitors will find information about the Parker-Gray Memorial Walkway unveiled last October, can print a brochure from the ceremony, and explore an extensive archives section containing documents and photographs.
There were three schools named Parker-Gray in Alexandria. The first opened on Wythe Street in 1920, where Black students attend Grades 1 through 8. In 1950, a new school with the same name opened on Madison Street. The final school closed its doors in 1979.
According to a press release, “In 1965, the last segregated class of Parker-Gray High School graduated. During the desegregation of the City of Alexandria’s public schools, Parker-Gray was reassigned as a middle school.”
The website provides context for the history of the three schools and covers their impact on the city.