Community News

Eleven Alexandria Deputies Graduate from Criminal Justice Academy

(l-r) Sheriff Dana Lawhorne congratulates Deputy Carlos Cañas, Deputy Taylor James, Deputy Stephen Ferrigno, Deputy Ayesha Waller, Deputy Ismael Interiano, Deputy Jonnetta Haines, Deputy Ricky Gonzalez, Deputy Navninder Chib, Deputy James Barr, Deputy Breaunda Hatfield and Deputy DeVon Carney. (Photo: Alexandria Sheriff’s Office)

ALEXANDRIA, VA – Eleven Alexandria deputy sheriffs graduated from Session 141 of the Northern Virginia Criminal Justice Training Academy last month. The new deputies successfully completed nearly six months of training including emergency vehicle operations, firearms training, defensive and control tactics, crash investigation, basic legal training, jail and courthouse procedures, and other important areas.

Sheriff Dana Lawhorne joined his command and training staff at the December 16 graduation ceremony at George Mason University. Sheriff Lawhorne congratulated Deputy James Barr, Deputy Carlos Cañas, Deputy DeVon Carney, Deputy Navninder Chib, Deputy Stephen Ferrigno, Deputy Ricky Gonzalez, Deputy Jonnetta Haines, Deputy Breaunda Hatfield, Deputy Ismael Interiano, Deputy Taylor James and Deputy Ayesha Waller on their graduation.

Deputy Canas Elected Class President

Class President and Deputy Carlos Canas addresses the graduating class. (Photo: Alexandria Sheriff’s Office)

Deputy Cañas was named president of the class and addressed his fellow graduates during the program. He acknowledged that the law enforcement profession is highly scrutinized but that those in the class joined because they answered a calling that demands “bravery, honor, integrity and respect.” He encouraged them to bring honor to their agencies and their profession.

OF INTEREST: Half-Day Police Academy Open Now for Alexandria Residents

Deputy Hatfield was also recognized during the ceremony for her academic performance, earning the third highest score in deputy school.

Since graduation, the deputies have been busy with field training in the community, courthouse and detention center.

The Academy serves 17 participating law enforcement agencies: the Alexandria Police Department, Alexandria Sheriff’s Office, Arlington County Police Department, Arlington County Sheriff’s Office, City of Fairfax Police Department, City of Falls Church Police Department, City of Falls Church Sheriff’s Office, George Mason University Police Department, Leesburg Police Department, Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office, Manassas City Police Department, Manassas Park City Police Department, Middleburg Police Department, Northern Virginia Community College Police, Purcellville Police Department, Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Police and the Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority.


Related Articles

Back to top button